University Life

Well, it happens to quite a lot of people.

You grow up.

Oh, I won’t pretend that I wasn’t extremely excited to finally leave home and be a part of the outside world. I still am, to some extent. After I graduated high school with a relatively high score compared to my classmates, I was thrilled to find out UBC had accepted me! (They already did months before I graduated, in fact) So I spent my first holiday without school in absolute delight, thinking about university life and preparing for my next journey in academics.

Fast forward to my second year and I’ve got Louis Vuitton bags. Underneath my eyes. Procrastination: it never leaves you. My God.

Now, I shouldn’t be complaining. I’ve got a nice little studio apartment that I’ve rented, my parents have promised to support me financially throughout my entire undergraduate degree and I have more than quite possibly a good two-thirds of the world’s population. I have no right to complain.

So this is not a complaint. This is more of a REFLECTION.

I love UBC, don’t get me wrong. I love university life. To be able to go to class (or skip them), to have something to study, to know that you have the opportunity to further yourself and to not worry about the basic things in life … it’s wonderful. But that doesn’t mean it does not come with it’s own hardships.

I can say quite truthfully that I should be handling my academic problems better. After the lowest marks I’ve ever received for my most recent round of midterms, it sparked an urge inside me to reflect on what I’m actually doing. What’s the purpose of me being in a first class world university when I can’t even figure out how to find local minimums and maximums and saddlepoints on level curve diagrams in Calculus?!

Long story short, I’ve already moved passed that point where you wonder whether your efforts are worth it. OF COURSE they are worth it. Well, they better damn be. I KNOW that what I’m doing will be all worth it and my struggles will shape me into a better person, yada-yada. But even if I KNOW that, it doesn’t mean I’m completely free of other struggles. Like procrastination.

I guess it’s more of a failing on my part. I’d better get back to work. I get distracted far too easily. Yes! That’s the thing. Distractions. Too many distractions. It’s BECAUSE I have many things to be thankful for that I am constantly being distracted by the things I enjoy: the Internet, video games, bananas, etc.

So from this reflection, I think it’s important to have the ability to temporarily turn away from these distractions. Imagine that you don’t HAVE these things at all and that your hard work will reward you with them! Sounds simple, but it’s not. I think it’s obvious. But hey, I’m getting there.

I wonder how I’m going to catch more zzz’s though.

Leave a Reply

